Daytrip to Bintan. Daytrip to Bintan. Daytrip to Bintan…..

NIK_6630Now before you all get on you soap boxes and say how insensitive I am for mentioning this.  I checked with the lady in question and she was fine with me mentioning the slight memory loss she suffered last week in Bintan.

Now before you all get on your soap boxes… Ok, enough of this hilarity, it was actually quite scary for somebody who had never seen first hand what a bump on the head can do, and we can use it as a little lesson learning exercise as I think, maybe, there was one thing we should have done differently.  Those better trained in first aid can tell us the other things.

Bintan Daytrip.  Done it many many times.  Standard drill.  Do group photo, check. One fast group, check.  One slow group, check.  Support vans for both, check.  Only this time even better, with motor cycle out riders to patrol the turns and make sure we all go the right way.

No problems, uncheck.

Rick: “has anybody seen my bag?”
Everybody: “Where did you put it?”
Rick: “In the car that was at the front”
Everybody “Err, that wasn’t one of our cars”
Miss Ner(local nickname for Neridah) “F&*%%$ Id^^$, I told you which car to put it in, F*#&* it we’re leaving”

I look around as Rick gets his driver to start calling other drivers, when I look back my larger slow group has left with Miss Ner, and I do the old “F^%& it, he’s a big boy and can sort it out and this is Miss Ner’s trip anyway”

It’s 9.15, the ferry home is booked for 3.35, the fast squad plan to do 170km, anybody see the problem with this equation?  Motoring is the word I would use, and they’re standing around trying to track down a lost bag!

Anyway, noting much to report, riding riding riding.  The fast boys eventually catch us and I throw out a playful “you need to be going faster than that if you plan to make your ferry”.  I think I heard a ‘thank you’, but you know how it is when your riding, sometimes your hearing isn’t quite what it could be.

No dramas, a few tired riders by the end of the red road, but otherwise all is well.  A nice tailwind assisted (I know there is no such thing as a tailwind, we just rode strong) trip down the coast.

All is going well, although Bintan is showing signs of getting the better of me just for a change, so I come to the top of a hill to find two of the team on the deck, a small wheel touch at the crest of the hill and it’s first blood to Bintan.  No worries, a minor mishap, onwards troops!

Feeling a little better.
Feeling a little better.

So I swear it can’t have been more than 2km further down the road when Teressa decides she wants to get better acquainted with her rural side and takes a dive into the dirt.  We stop again, and she’s sitting up looking fine, just a well dusted shoulder, which I’m guessing must have hurt like hell on Monday.  After a few minutes of chatting, checking over ensuring nothing is damaged on the bike, or her I guess, she announces she is good to go, but we thought it would be a good idea to call the van back which as bad luck would have it had just raced ahead to deposit two tired riders a little further up the road and closer to home.  The news that the van was heading in the other direction left us with a dilemma.  To sit and wait, knowing that we’re on a bit of a schedule if we plan to make it back to the ferry in time for the 3.35 or listen to the patient who looks ok, is reacting ok, and says she is ok.  We decide she’s ok to roll gently just to keep us moving and to close the gap to the van.

Less than 1000m later and half way up a small hill Teressa stops again and Matt and I circle back to make sure she it ok.

Teressa: “I have no idea where I am or how I got here”NIK_6663
Me: “Get off the bike and sit down!”

Teressa then proceeded to tell Matt and me that she didn’t know what happened, Matt explained a slight touch of wheels had brought her down.  She apologised for holding us up, then repeated the question, and again, and again, and again!  I look at Matt, he looks at me and we share a “Oh Crap!” moment of understanding.  Quite NIK_6687an impact now became evident on her helmet and Miss Ner later discovered that it had done its job and cracked right through on the inside.

That’s pretty much the end of the cycling write up.  We split the group into slower group to leave now, faster to stay behind until the van arrived to transport Teressa and after a few more km I joined her in the van having been burnt up by the faster group.  Still in good spirits, she announced that some of the other riders looked a bit tired and NIK_6689maybe she should swap with them to which my reply was an emphatic “You’re not going anywhere”

A tough day’s riding as can be seen from Johan’s expression and fortunately no permanent damage, just a night of observation in Hotel Gleneagles.

Anything we should have done differently?  If there is a next time, and I hope there isn’t, we’ll be insisting that anybody that takes knock to the head during a ride retires for the rest of the ride and takes the chauffeured trip home.

Let’s be careful out there people!

Andrew

Leave a Reply

