Pitstop – Does it ever work?

pitstop2

Since the invention of pneumatic tires the cyclist’s bane has been the flat tyre. The history of the bicycle is filled with gadgets designed to keep air inside the tyre and, once it leaks out, how to get it back in. The ideas range from zany to ingenious. One of the most readily available & easiest to use (in principle) is Vittoria’s Pit Stop.

For those that have never experienced Pit Stop it’s a pressurized cylinder filled with compressed gas and polymer foam sealant. You carry the cylinder with you in a bike bag or jersey pocket. When you have a flat tyre you simply open your valve stem, press the nozzle on the Vittoria Pit Stop canister onto your valve stem and press toward the tyre to release the compressed gas and the liquid foam sealant.  The gas inflates the tyre while the foam sealant flows into the puncture and instantly dries, sealing the hole and fixing the flat. It’s like spray cheese but for flat tyres…

That’s the theory anyway. However, in my 4 attempts to use it, I’ve never actually got it to do anything except disappoint me. My experience has been that the marketing blurb is great but all I’ve ever managed to do is get white foam sprayed all over my carbon rims….

This failing might be due to my ineptitude but I’ve also observed statesman riders – including ANZA’s male rider of the year 2015 – struggling to get any worth out of that little can of Hope. The only time that I’ve ever observed Pitstop exceeding expectations was when it was accidentally sprayed bukkake-style into the face of a rival racing team member whilst being soaked on a Malaysian road hard shoulder!

I love the idea of the product which is why I seem to keep giving it one more try. Interested to see if anyone has had success with it & whether the fault lies in me. Give us your experience below.

Leave a Reply

