Getting smashed at the bars

Almost but not quite…. different type of bars…

Finally got round to changing my filthy bar tape this week and got a bit of a shock. My Alien-queen like sweat had managed to eat through my handlebars leaving me with a gaping hole just at the brake lever. Previously I’d always thought of myself as a non sweaty beast that glows rather than perspires. Given the bars are only 6 months old this was a real wake up call time!

decay bars

Moral of the story? If you’re running with alloy bars then suggest you change the bar tape regularly just to make sure everything is alright. The SG climate is incredibly hard on the alloys so you need to be careful to avoid cataclysmic failure. If in doubt, get yourself down to BikePlus – I’m sure they’d be happy to help you out with some quality carbon bars at a great price!

One thought on “Getting smashed at the bars

Leave a Reply

