Under The Helmet | Stale Grindflek

stale3

Who are you?

I am 37 year old Norwegian guy. I am married to an Australian and we have two kids. I currently work as a personal/group trainer for a small local firm.

Where are you from and how long have you been in Singapore?

I come from a small village in inland Norway called Tynset. It’s known to be one of the country’s coldest places with yearly average temperature of around zero degrees Celsius. It’s has excellent terrain for cross country running and skiing as well as mountain biking. I have been in Singapore for three years.

How long you been riding?

3 years. I bought a road bike the week I got here.

Whats in your bike cabinet?

I have just a box with tools, some spare parts, tubes, etc.

Greatest cycling achievement?

It must be the Bintan Lagoon Classic race this year where I came second.

Worst crash?

I have only had one crash. It was on the 180 degree turn on the TT (stage 1) on TdB last year, but it was a gentle one 🙂

Most embarrassing moment in life?

There are a lot to choose from, but none worth mentioning.

Most embarrassing moment on a bike?

Nothing serious, but I fell on the top tube as I slid of the pedals and almost falling of the bike as traffic light turned green, entertaining/irritating a dozen or so spectators waiting to drive.

Motto in life?

None special, they change all the time

Motto on the bike?

Better late than never.

Words of wisdom for the club members?

Come up with and follow your own words of wisdom.

What’s the last song you’d play before a race to motivate yourself?

I am not actually listening to any songs, but AC/DC’s Thunderstruck boosts my energy levels.

If your life were a film, who would you want to play you?

The younger Arnold Schwarzenegger.

Favourite SG ride and why?

A standard Kranji, because i find it quite varied and I know it well.

Where can you be found when not on the bike?

At home, travelling around Singapore training other people, playing with my two lovely children.

Best ride in the region that you have done?

I have not done many. I just went up to KL to do Fraser’s Hill last weekend. That was very good for hill training.

Cycling ambition still to be tackled?

I am thinking about a race in Norway that goes from Trondheim to Oslo called Styrkeprøven(‘The strength/toughness test’). It’s 540km (in one go if you wondered).

3 words which best describe you?

(I would like to think) organised, kind and reliable.

You’re known to most for your great effort in the recent Bintan race. How did you feel after crossing the line?

Exhausted after battling with cramps the last 8-10 km. I didn’t know winner Richard Paine and I were the two first to cross the line in Cat 2. I thought there were a group in front of us all the time since we broke away from the peloton with about 50 km to go. I was looking ahead around every bend to see if we were gaining on them, but the group I was chasing existed just in my head. I must pay better attention next time.

Whats it like having a wife that also rides? Does it make it easier or harder to buy new bike stuff now?

It’s great, now I can buy new things for both of us

stale1

Leave a Reply

