Standing For Road Director

DONALD MACDONALD FOR ROAD DIRECTOR

WHO AM I?

imageMany of you will know me from Coffee Bean, from my role co-editing the RTI with Andrew or as the sad case at Longhouse that owns a Pink Pinarello.

I’m a 41 year old Scotsman – been in Singapore for 11 years and an ANZA member on & off since 2009. My cycling credentials covers all the bases with a childhood addiction to thrashing my Haro BMX & building quarter pipes, 3 years mountain biking and then moving to the road in 2008.  I’ve raced MTB, Cat 2 and am currently Cat 1 – have won a few things but am realistic that I’ll never be world champion…

Since co-editing the RTI, I’ve realized there are some great things this club can do but due to travel schedules and family, they often don’t happen as well/often as they could. As I’m blessed with an understanding wife, no kids and a job that doesn’t require much travel, I thought I’d step forward and do something to try and help make the club better for all.

WHICH ROLE AM I STANDING FOR?

I’m standing for the Road Director role (currently held by Dave Cox)

WHAT DO I AIM TO DO FOR THE CLUB?

There are 3 key areas where I aim to help the club:

  1. Training support for Cat 2 & Cat 3 riders
    • I want to give Cat 2, Cat 3 cyclists -and the wider club – access to structured training to help make us all better riders. I propose spending a little bit of club funds to hire a club coach that can will provide structured plans online which will be tailored to specific upcoming events (“the Tour de Bintan plan”) and also take into account the amount of training time you can commit (6/8/10 hr per week plans)
  2. Try to introduce a regular club time trial
    • A standard in the UK or Aus, I’m still gobsmacked when I see no regular TT scene in SG. I’m not saying this will be easy with the road situation but there are ways and means. I’d aim to introduce a regular club time trial and related league tables to help select the club champion each year.
  3. Remove the secrecy of designing the new kit & give members a say in the design
    • A great looking kit is important to us all and the current annual design process is a bit of a black box. Getting the whole club involved in designing every last detail is not feasible but I’d like to open it up a bit and give members some involvement. I propose crowdsourcing the members opinions by enabling you to vote online on the early rough designs so that we can collectively select the design we think the best. The committee will then take charge in refining the rough design into the final product.

image

Vote for me. If you can’t make it in person then do email your vote to the Anza secretary at secretary@anzacycling.com

One thought on “Standing For Road Director

Leave a Reply

