Under The Helmet – Alex Robertson

UTH-logoYou recognise them from the bike, or the helmet and the shades, but who are the people under the helmet?

 

Bulmers Shetland3

Who are you?
Alex Robertson

Where are you from and how long have you been in Singapore?
Reading, UK. 18 months.
 
How long you been riding?
Since my dad got me a bright red BMX. It was the best.

Greatest cycling achievement?
In my mind I can always do better. That’s one of the reasons why I still try and ride competitively. My most enjoyable cycling experience was riding from Greenwich in London to the Colosseum in Rome. I won the final sprint down the cobbled Appian highway to the sound of Italian scooters beeping their horns.

Worst crash?
Being t-boned by a car along Whitechapel Road during rush hour in London. That was number 4 for my right collarbone and a sad day for a frame I liked.

Most embarrassing moment in life?
*&%$ing myself.
 
Most embarrassing moment on a bike?
There’s been many, but one of the most blushing moments came when riding no hands back from school (a long time ago). I was trying to be cool in front of some girls, but instead just hit the curb and went over the handlebars and head planted a letter box. Not cool.
 
If your life was a film, what would it be?
Labyrinth – my sense of direction is terrible.
 
Motto in life?
Life isn’t meant to be fair – one from my dad.
 
Motto on the bike?
Just keep swimming.
 
Words of wisdom for the club members?
Don’t take the motto above too literally.

Self-rating for bIQ and bEQ (1 is low & 10 Expert)?
bIQ – x, bEQ – x
I don’t know what this is.

If your life were a film, who would you want to play you?
Brian Blessed – he’s nothing like me, but I just think his a bit of a legend.
 
Favourite SG ride and why?
Wednesday mornings. I enjoy the funny looks at work when I can’t walk down the stairs without sounding like an old man in his 80s.
 
Where can you be found when not on the bike?
At some overpriced, overrated restaurant.

Best ride in the region that you have done?
The double header in Malaysia was a nice ride (coming again soon I think?).
 
Cycling ambition still to be tackled?
Solo RAAM. I’ve got allot of training to do!
 
3 words which best describe you?
Quiet, determined / addictive, gangly.
 

Leave a Reply

